The deployment architecture walk-through of Microsoft Dynamics CRM 2011

The advancements in the global environment have necessitated the exploitation of technology which has automated the information and data management of the customers and hence synchronized the business process in totality. Such modus operands of the CRM involve the deployment and strategizing of the architecture as per the business requirements. This is very much imperative in the implementation process wherein customer relationships and various measures can be evaluated in relation to the customer bonds. The extensibility architecture is an important aspect of Microsoft Dynamics CRM 2011. A metadata driven architecture is designed which offers flexibility in order to build custom based entities and other related attributes. This arrangement and the architecture facilitate the dynamics CRM in a consistent way which effectively manages the deployments. Microsoft Dynamics CRM in India and elsewhere are being highly recognized for the services it provides.

The architecture model

The architecture of the CRM platform shows the deployment models, core platform features and the various operational processes involved. Dynamics CRM 2011 offers maximum possible flexibility which enables the business enterprises to attain an end-to-end CRM capability. Such architectural deployment assists Dynamics CRM 2011 as:

  • A service
  • An application framework
  • A traditional CRM application

The entire architecture of Microsoft Dynamics CRM 2011 is based on the network being designed in a way which includes the concept of three tiered and four zone segmentation.

The design segmentation

The design and segmentation approach defines the various stages of scale and the zones which defends the surface and in turn secures the entire data access.

The different segmentation of the zones includes:

Zone 0: This is known as the boundary which is a part of the network and is often referred to as the closest to the web or the end user. This in general is considered as a security zone which consists of the boundary routers, boundary firewalls, Denial of Service, boundary routers and intrusion detection. The servers related to Dynamics CRM are not a part of this zone.

Microsoft Dynamics CRM 2011
Microsoft Dynamics CRM 2011

Zone 1: This zone is known as Edge that consist of entities in the form of servers which is utilized for validation, load balancing and application services. This zone is also referred to as the secure by default zone.

Zone 2: This is the proxy zone which relays the authentication requests between zone 1 and the next zone 3. The zone consists of:

  • Servers having domain membership in relation to active directory present in Zone 3
  • CRM 2011 front end application servers

Other servers which are deployed here can also be utilized in zone 3 on the basis of security needs are:

  • CRM 2011 E-mail Router servers
  • CRM 2011 Deployment Service role server
  • CRM 2011 Back-end Asynchronous and Sandbox Server
  • SQL Reporting Servers for CRM 2011

Zone 3: This is the data center which is reckoned as a highly secured part of the network. Any access to this zone has been directed via the proxies set in zone 2. The particular zone consists of:

  • Data repository servers
  • CRM 2011 databases

Various Ports and protocols in use

In order to have connectivity between zones different ports and protocols are required to be enabled. This helps in proper synchronization and lets the workflow in an organized manner. Microsoft Dynamics CRM in India and across the world offers a complete management solution for customizing, planning, deployment, integration and securing the Dynamics CRM version.

Ports between zone 0 and zone 1

  • TCP- Port 80: Default Web application
  • TCP- Port 8080: SharePoint Administration
  • TCP- Port 3389: Remote Desktop Support
  • UDP- Port 53: DNS messages

Ports between zone 1 and zone 2

  • TCP- Port 80: Default Web application
  • TCP- Port 8080: SharePoint Administration
  • TCP- Port 3389: Remote Desktop Support

Ports between zone 2 and zone 0

  • TCP- Port 25: SMTP related servers

Ports between zone 2 and zone 3

  • TCP- Port 135: RPC endpoint resolution
  • TCP- Port 139: NETBIOS session service
  • TCP- Port 445: Active Directory service
  • TCP- Port 1433: SQL server
  • TCP- Port 3389: Remote Desktop Support
  • UDP- Port 123: Network Time Protocol
  • UDP- Port 137: NETBIOS name service
  • UDP- Port 138: NETBIOS datagram service
  • UDP- Port 1025: DCOM

Microsoft Dynamics CRM 2011 architecture is designed keeping into consideration the tiered approach in order to implement the varied hosted services related to Microsoft Dynamics CRM and on the global platform. With the support of this architectural design and planning Dynamics CRM 2011 has been able to offer high end services which give a boost to the business in the market.

About the author:   Reeyankee Das Choudhury has been closely associated with the advancements in the domain of CRM Customization Service Germany which made her write this content and share it with the readers.